Advisory Council of DIPLOCAT

The Advisory Council is an advisory body consisting of well-known people with international careers in the areas of economics, politics, international affairs and other areas of relevance to the functions of DIPLOCAT.

Institutional area

  • Andreu Claret

    Executive director of the Anna Lindh Foundation of the Union for the Mediterranean (2008-2015)

  • Montserrat Feixas

    Representative of UNHCR in Central Europe (2013-2022)

  • Josep-Antoni Garí

    Senior Policy Advisor, Climate Hub, United Nations (Geneva)

  • Stephan Koppelberg

    Acting Head of the Representation of the European Commission in Luxembourg (2020-22)

  • Arturo Sarukhan

    Mexican Ambassador to the US (2007-2013)

  • Josep Manuel Suárez

    Head of the Delegation of the Government of Catalonia to the United Kingdom (2011-2016)

  • Bodil Valero

    Swedish MEP for the Green party in the European Parliamental (2014-2019), member of the Swedish Parliament (2006-14)

Academic / research area

  • Carles Boix

    Robert Garrett Professor of Politics and Public Affairs at Princeton University

  • Nick Cull

    Professor of Public Diplomacy and Director of the Master's Program in Public Diplomacy, University of Southern California (USC)

  • Roderic Guigó Serra

    Coordinator of the Programme of Bioinformatics and Genomics at the Centre for Genomic Regulation in Barcelona

  • Tomàs Marquès-Bonet

    ICREA Professor at the Pompeu Fabra University, and vice-director of the Institute of Evolutionary Biology (UPF/CSIC)

Business / economics area

  • Albert Castellón

    Founder of The Catalan Lobster and WeDo Partners, CEO of the Moritz brewery (2004-2016).

  • Joan Majó

    European Commission Senior Adviser (1989-1994); Spanish Minister for Industry and Energy (1985-1986)

  • Anna N. Schlegel

    Vice-President of Product, International Markets, and Globalization at ProCore Technologies

  • Pere Vallès

    CEO of Exoticca

Cultural / social area

  • Lucía Caram

    Nun and promoter of the #Invulnerables programme

  • Mary Ann Newman

    Executive director of the Farragut Fund for Catalan Culture in the United States

  • Bel Olid

    Writer; president of the Association of Catalan language writers (AELC); president of the European Council of Literary Translators (2013-2015)

  • Isona Passola

    Cinema director; president of the Mediterranean Association of Independent Film Producers and president of the Ateneu Barcelonès

  • Jordi Savall

    Musician, composer and conductor; EU ambassador for intercultural dialogue; Artist for Peace of UNESCO

  • Matthew Tree

    Writer, in both English and Catalan (UK)

Sports area

  • Xavier O’Callaghan

    Manager of Management of the Handball, Futsal and Roller Hockey Sections of FC Barcelona

  • Dolors Ribalta

    Former football player for RCD Espanyol and the Catalan national team

  • Araceli Segarra

    Mountain climber and communicator

Former members

Last updated: 06/02/2024